Mother Nature is a wicked miniature builder
While innocently pulling weeds this weekend, I stumbled across a couple of tiny colonies. They don't look like much from afar...
[Image: f1bfd6a3-c2fe-4b05-9c2f-c10598cc9610.jpg]

But if you get down by the ground, they are amazing. This is the patch on the right:
[Image: 20150703_123516.jpg]

It was only about 3 inches wide.
[Image: 20150703_123405.jpg]

And the patch on the left.
[Image: 20150703_123234.jpg]
[+] 2 users Like MellyMonkey's post
The things above are reflected in the things below. And vice versa, as ours is a fractal universe.
Wow! Copy it for the competition? Big Grin
That is a thing of beauty. Anyone know what it is? Or are the olde ones invading again?
Yep, Nature is awesome!
I love the small, ill-known species. The pictures you posted are mosses and liverwort.

I am not an expert on these species, but I remember a few things about them.
The "palm-trees" that you can see on the pictures are sexual reproductive organs (like flowers) called gametophores of liverwort.
The cup-like things on the liverwort's "leaves" are asexual reproductive organs.

The furry-looking mosses are actual mosses, with brown gametophores sprouting from them.

Unlike mammals like us, their life-cycle consists mostly in haploid individuals, meaning that all the "plants" you can see on the pictures only have one set of genetic material (like a sperm cell or an egg-cell)!

I hope this reply will not sound too boring, I just wanted to share a few facts, and say that we don't need to look on distant planets to find funny, alien-looking species.
Whatever the technical details, Good Ol' Earth is packed with a lot of tiny wonders for your viewing pleasure... and artistic inspiration!

Thanks Melly for sharing these pictures with us!
Similar inspiration can be drawn from some lychens:
[Image: 330px-Cladonia-fimbriata%28Trompetenflechte%292.jpg]

Pollen:
[Image: LilySEM.jpg]
Fungi (here is a Clathrus):
[Image: 479px-Clathrus_crispus.jpg]