Perspectives requested (modular gaming table crafting materials)
Hello all,
I am new to making terrain and am looking for information on what types of foam/base materials are preferable for making landform tiles suitable for 1:48 scale. I have looked around in the forums here and not found any specific brands or types named, apologies if I have overlooked something obvious.

My intention is to make 8 2x2' tiles, using a 1/4" (or 3/8" ?) MDF base with 1" foam glued to the top of each with PVA.

However, I've read horror stories about MDF warping due to pva, other water-based adhesives, or humidity. Is MDF the best choice for this application or do you think there might be a better alternative?

As for the foam, I am looking at getting a few sheets of Corafoam for carving, but again I am a noob and would like to know if you have a better recommendation.

Thank you for your input.
Terra Novicius.
(09-19-2016, 02:48 PM)Draugrnaut Wrote: However, I've read horror stories about MDF warping due to pva, other water-based adhesives, or humidity.

If you live in ABQ ambient humidity probably won't be a problem for you. The other main causes of warping are usually a result of poor glue technique and/or choice.

Warping is caused by glue shrinkage, so the two main ways to avoid warping is to use an adhesive that doesn't shrink as it cures and/or using the proper amount of glue. Completely slathering a board with a coat of PVA is a recipe for disaster. You can use PVA, but the trick is to use lots of little dots, not a couple big fat ribbons/beads. Use as little adhesive as possible.

Rubber cements are good for this as they don't shrink as much as PVA. HOWEVER, you have to find a cement that doesn't use a foam-eating solvent. This will require a knowledge of your foam.

(09-19-2016, 02:48 PM)Draugrnaut Wrote: As for the foam, I am looking at getting a few sheets of Corafoam for carving...